Jones, Messenger earn all-star honours

The Western Lacrosse Association has unveiled its top awards for the 2019 regular season, and the New Westminster Salmonbellies have more than a few to celebrate.

Sniper Mitch Jones received both the Denny Huddleston Memorial Award as the regular season’s top scorer, with 31 goals and 59 assists for 90 points, as well as a spot on the first all-star team.

article continues below

Joining him on the first team was defender Mike Messenger.

The others named to the first all-star squad were netminder Frank Scigliano of Maple Ridge, Victoria’s Graeme Hossack, Burnaby’s Robert Church and Nanaimo’s Jon Phillips.

On the second all-star team, another ’Bellies defender made the grade, as Brett Mydske was selected, joining Victoria’s Steve Priolo and Coquitlam’s Jaeden Gastaldo.

On offence, the second team features New West’s Jordan McBride, who counted 37 goals and 25 assists over 18 games.

Also making the second all-star squad were Maple Ridge’s Mike Mallory, Burnaby’s Dane Stevens and Victoria’s Chris Boushy.

Boushy would be voted the league’s Ed Bayley Memorial Award rookie of the year, while Church picked up the Commission Trophy as the Most Valuable Player.

Hossack was honoured as the first recipient of the newly named Les Wingrove Memorial Award, for the top defensive player.

Scigliano was voted the Leo Nicholson Memorial Award winner as the WLA’s top netminder.

Church went on to receive the Three-Star Award as well.

Burnaby’s Peter Tellis was named as the Dorothy Robertson Award as coach of the year.

Read Related Topics

© New West Record

Report a Typo or Error