Skip to content

Meet the candidates: New West mayoral and council candidates

Find out what New Westminster candidates have to say about policing, housing, the Royal City moniker and other issues in the Record’s questionnaire to civic candidates

Policing and population growth – these are some of the topics the Record took up with candidates running for seats on New Westminster city council.

Questionnaires now posted on The Record’s website give voters a chance to know the candidates a little better and to see where they stand a number of issues, such as: how and where the city should accommodate the projected population growth; council’s decision to ditch the Royal City moniker in city branding; and the biggest success and/or failure of the current city council.

How do candidates feel about the New Westminster Police Department’s budget? Are candidates supportive of allowing non-profit housing to be built without having to go through a rezoning process? What are the Top 3 issues facing New Westminster?

What did the candidates have to say about these and other issues?

Did they come right out and answer the question – or did they do a bit of smooth talking around the issue? You be the judge.

On a lighter note, we asked candidates to describe their ideal day in New Westminster. Perhaps you’ll find some ideas of new things to do around town.

All of New Westminster’s mayoral and councillor candidates completed the questionnaires. You can find the questionnaires – and other election coverage – on The Record’s 2022 Civic Election page.

On Oct. 15, three candidates hope to become New Westminster’s next mayor:

Ken Armstrong, New West Progressives

Patrick Johnstone, Community First New West

Chuck Puchmayr, independent

Twelve candidates are running with the goal of taking one of the six seats on city council:

Daniel Ampong, independent

Karima Budhwani, New West Progressives

Ruby Campbell, Community First New West

Chinu Das, Community First New West

Rick Folka, New West Progressives

Daniel Fontaine, New West Progressives

Tasha Henderson, Community First New West

Bereket Kebede, Community First New West

Jiayi Li-McCarthy, New West Progressives

Jaimie McEvoy, Community First New West

Paul Minhas, New West Progressives

Nadine Nakagawa, Community First New West

Follow Theresa McManus on Twitter @TheresaMcManus